Overcast!

What’s up all? My name is Gabriel Baumgaertner- this is my first entry, so we’ll find out if I’m actually giving you something new to listen to or if I’m reppin pure retreads.

First off, let’s all take a moment and celebrate the fact that the second wave of Reflection Eternal is ACTUALLY being released.

Alright.

It may be an odd approach, but the first suggestion, if that’s what you want to call it, that I have is an old, old album from twelve years ago from a group that now is probably considered commercial.

If you’re reading this blog, you’ve probably heard Atmosphere at some point. Slug and Ant have established themselves as some of the more recognizable figures in underground hip-hop, so much so that many may not consider them “underground” any longer.

Their most recent joint, “If Life Gives You Lemons, You Paint That Shit Gold” had a great title, but its content left plenty to be desired. Some of the tracks even found their way onto KROQ, a famous Los Angeles hard rock station. For loyal Atmosphere supporters, it was a different experience hearing their work hit the radio waves.

I’d argue that the duo’s work has progressively worsened with time.

That’s why I’m throwing all the way back to 1997, the year that Slug, Ant, Spawn, Stress and Beyond released “Overcast!”.

“Overcast!” has several great tracks, some catchier than others, some with some truly great lyricism.

Tracks like “Clay”, “4:30 A.M” and “Ode to the Modern Man” have quicker beats and are easy to listen to.

“Complications”, “Current Status” and “Adjust” are works of lyrical mastery.

The best combination in my opinion? “Multiples”

Since it’s my first post, I don’t know whether or not this is common knowledge or not. If you know it, give it another listen, if you don’t, check it, it’s raw.

3 responses to “Overcast!”

  1. gabbyzuko says :

    Good first post, Gabe. Overcast is a classic. There’s always room for classics.

  2. Danny D says :

    Thanks for the drop… most of the dope shit in hip hop was released before I even was into hip hop (I started breakin in 04/05) so I love it and appreciated when cats drop gems i would never find otherwise.

    Keep it coming!

  3. dancergrlbecca says :

    lol Atmosphere is my favorite group, love Slug and Ant so much!
    Thanks for posting this, I refrained from doing so because I thought everyone would have already known about it but you presented it in a really eloquent way đŸ™‚
    I have to say though, I like this cd but my favorite is Lucy Ford, don’t think you can get any better than that xP

Leave a Reply

